Monday, 18 February 2013

Indian winners of nobel prize

Nobel prize is the most prestigious award of all the world.It is a yearly,international award for achievement in physics,chemistry,physiology and medicine,literature,economics and peace.

It was established on the year 1895 in the name of the inventor of dynamite Alfred Nobel.

Many peoples from India won Nobel prizes and those are:- 

Rabindranath Tagore 

Rabindranath Tagore was the first person from India to won Nobel prize.

He won Nobel prize for his contribution on literature(Geetanjali) in the year 1913.  

He was born on May 7th, 1861 at Jorasanko mansion,Calcutta.

His parents name was Debendranath Tagore and Sarada Devi.


He was the youngest among his ancestors.

He was completed his education from university of Calcutta,St.Xaviera's Collegiate School and University of London.

He was married to Mrinallini Devi in 1883.

He was a Bengali poet,play writer,composer,artist,philosopher and novelist.

He was not only the first Indian but also first Asian and Non-European to won Nobel prize.

He wrote about 273 distinct books and his stories,novels,essay,dramas,dance and songs were mostly based on personal and political .

Some of his notable work was Geetanjali,Gora,Ghare-Baire.

C V Raman

Chandrasekhar Venkata Raman is one of the Nobel laureates of India.

He was the second person from India to won Nobel prize.

He was an Indian physicist and honored with Nobel prize for his inventions of "Raman Effect" in the year 1930.

C V Raman was born in  Thiruvanaikoil, near Tiruchirappalli,Tamilnadu,India.

His father name was R. Chandrasekhar Iyar and mother was Parvati Ammal.

He was an alumni of Presidency college,Madras.

He was given his contribution to many educational organization and government department of India.Those are Indian Finance Department,University Of Calcutta,Indian Association For The Cultivation Of Science,Indian Institute Science Central College,Bangalore University,Raman Research Institute.

He established an institute known as Raman Research Institute,Bangalore. 

He was honored with Bharat Ratna award in 1954 and Lenin Peace Prize in 1957.

Mother Teresa

Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu commonly known as Mother Teresa.

She was born in Skopje,Ottoman Vardar,Macedonia,Indian by citizenship and Albanian,Roman Catholic nun by ethnic.

She was honored with prestigious Nobel Peace Prize in the year 1979.


She founded missionaries of charity for the people suffering from HIV/AIDS,tuberculosis,leprosy and started many family welfare program,orphanages and school.

Pope John Paul II gave her the title of "Blessed Teresa of Calcutta" after her death.

She got first pope John XXIII Peace prize,the Philippines based Ramon Magsaysay Awards,the Pacem award a companion of the Order of Australia,the order of merit from both the United Kingdom and United State,Albania's Golden Honour of the Nation,the Balzan prize and Albert Schweitzer International prize.

Amartya Sen

Amartya Sen was the first person to achieve Nobel prize for Economics in the year 1998 for his notable in welfare economics and social choice theory.

He is an Indian philosopher and economist.He was born in Santiniketan,West Bengal in the year 1933.


He is belongs from a well educated and established family.His parents were Ashutosh sen and mother Amita sen,his father Ashutosh sen was a chemistry professor in Dhaka University

He studied in many institute and started with Viswa-Bharthi University school,presidency college,Calcutta,University of Calcutta and Trinity College,Cambridge.

He is awarded with Bharat Ratna award in the year 1999 and National Humanities Medal in the year 2012.

Subramanyan Chandrasekhar

Subramanyan Chandrasekhar was an Indian-American astrophysicist.

He won Nobel prize with William A. Fowler in 1983 for their key discoveries of theory on later evolutionary stages of massive stars.

His discovery was named after him "Chandrasekhar limit".

He was born in Lahore,1910,October 19.

He was completed his study in Presidency College,Madras and Trinity College,Cambridge.

Chandrasekhar served on the University of Chicago as faculty from 1937 until his death in 1995.

He was given his precious contribution in various field including mathematical theory of black holes,theory of colliding gravitational waves,hydrodynamic and hydromagnetic stability,general relativity,equilibrium and the stability of ellipsoidal figures of equilibrium,stellar dynamic,stellar structure,theory of white dwarfs,theory of radiative transfer and quantum theory of the negative ion of hydrogen.

Indian government honored him with Padma Vibhusan award in the year 1968 and USA honored him with National award of science in the year 1966.

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan

Venkatraman Ramakrishna is an Indian-American and British structural biologist.

In 2009 he shared Nobel prize with Thomas A.Steitz and Ada E. Yonath for their discovery the structure and function of ribosomes.

He was born in Chidambaram in Cuddalore district,Tamilnadu,India.

C.V Ramakrishnan and Rajalaxmi were parents of Venkatraman Ramakrishnan,Both of his parents were scientist and taught biochemistry at Maharaja Sayajirao University,Baroda.

He was completed his education in Baroda University,Ohio University and University of California,San Diago.

He was honored with Padma Vibhusan in the year 2010.